Skip to content

Pin #2: Strawberry Cupcake Heaven

July 5, 2012

Happy Summer! In Seattle we all know, but always complain, about the fact that ‘summer’ does not begin until after the 4th of July.  After a June full of rain and gloom, there is light – actual SUNlight – a the end of the tunnel.  What makes you feel more summery than strawberries?  In our new yard, we were pleased (and quite intimidated) to find a vast array of fruit bearing plants and trees.  The first harvest of the year is strawberries.  Luca and I picked a small bucket on a day when we had about 10 minutes of sunshine in early June only to find them full of bugs and mold.  We didn’t have high hopes when we went out to pick more a few weeks later.  To our surprise, there were tons of beauties and no bugs.  I had to send Luca in for another bucket to carry them all.

We were headed to Penticton, British Columbia, Canada the next day to visit friends and family so we had to think of something to make with our bounty.  We can not carry fresh fruit across the boarder and as luck would have it, we were meeting up with my sister-in-law who would be celebrating her birthday while we were on ‘holidays,’ as the Canadians say.

So, I added some new pins to my FOOD board to find inspiration.  This is what I found:

‘Strawberry Rose Cupcake’
Click on the photo to see my original pin and link to the recipe

Looks like heaven right?   I found lots of ‘strawberry cupcake’ pins but this is one of the few that used actual Strawberries vs. strawberry flavored ingredients.  This one is truly a winner.  The cake is moist and the frosting is cream cheese.  How could you go wrong?

First we started with the beautiful strawberries.

The recipe calls for 1 1/4 cups of strawberries.

At this point I think it is important to share that I have the world’s worst baker.  I’m not really great in the kitchen, but i try and I feel like I’m getting better.  I’ve had some serious cake disasters! I mean UGLY.  They usually taste good, but are painful to look at.  So, about the time I’m mixing up the batter, I’m remembering all my past cake attempts and started feeling really nervous about these cupcakes.  At some point in this blog, I will have to do the uber popular Pinterest Rainbow Cake.  It was one of the very first things I pinned.  That will be my baking Everest….but, now, back to the simple cupcakes….

The frosting was is a buttermilk, cream cream cheese frosting.  I had so much strawberry puree that I decided to add some to the frosting too.  It gave a really nice, subtle strawberry flavor. Yum.

Sadly, I didn’t add as much food coloring as they called for, so my batter/cupcakes didn’t turn out like the picture.  They were a lighter pink, but still fabulous.

Ta-da!  Delicious and beautiful.

My sister-in-law loved the cupcakes and the fact I brought them across the boarder for her birthday celebration.  It was fun telling her about Pinterest.  We even executed another pin on the trip…stay tuned for that one!

I give this recipe and pin 2 thumbs up.  It was pretty easy (although I don’t ever do recipes with this many ingredients) and delicious.  I’d just be sure to add enough food coloring if you want your cupcake to be as luscious looking as the one in the photo.

2 down…98 to go!

Leave a Reply

journeyofarockstar

Just another WordPress.com site

What I see when I run...

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Teacher Tom

1 year. 100 projects inspired by Pinterest. Stop Pinning. Start Doing.

Early Learning Planet

A Mother of Two Boys, Jillian Mak Shares Stories of Parenting and Information as an Early Childhood Educator

& squatch makes three

I make it all up as I go along.

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Woodland Park 3s

Just another WordPress.com site

Changing My Destiny

In search of an extraordinary life.

