Skip to content

Pin #5 Ombre Birthday Cake(Wreck)

August 15, 2012

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I’m a hopeless baker of cakes.  Cupcakes, ok, but cakes – WRECKS!  I think I’m finally starting to see the error of my ways, but, clearly it is going to take a lot of bad cakes for me to learn my lessons in baking. One of the goals of this blog is to show the power of Pinterest and do projects inspired by the uber-popular themes I have seen on the site.  One of the terms that is new to my vocabulary is “Ombre.”(click on the word to find a Pinterest search of this term). Ombre, as defined by me in this context, is the term describing the effect of color going from dark to light (or vice versa) in a gradual way. It is quite beautiful and you can clearly see why people are drawn to it.  Pinterest is absolutely full of examples of Ombre everything: nails, hair, walls, cakes, fashion and the list goes on.  Here are a few examples beginning with the inspiration for this cake(wreck):

Pin #5 The Blue Ombre Cake

More Ombre:

Now that I’m inspired, let’s get baking….

This cake is for Luca’s 4th birthday. NOT his party – he wants cupcakes for that, but on his real birthday he wants a blue cake.  Blue, dark blue actually, is his favorite color.  I just decided I’d do a simple box cake with cream cheese frosting and not follow any recipe online.  I had watched the Martha Stewart Rainbow cake tutorial so I had some tricks in mind (like putting the cake in the fridge for a few hours before frosting, doing a crumb coat and how to divide the batter).  I still plan on doing the Rainbow Cake, but trying this is a step toward that ultimate cake(wreck) goal.

Things started off so well:

But then this happened:

I decided this was not going to work out well.  My cake was too soft, even after following Martha’s advice and putting it in the fridge for several hours to get harder.  It was being held together by skewers, I was laughing hysterically at this point because I was sure my cake skills had magically improved with age.  Yeah…so I decided to take off the second layer from the top and try to save the rest.  It was the layer that was crumbling the most.

This is what the decapitated cake looked like:

I somewhat successfully removed the second layer and reapplied the top, DARKEST blue layer for Luca, completed the ‘crumb coating’ and put it in the fridge overnight.  It still needed a few wooden skewers, but I thought it had a way better chance of working out with one layer gone.

The next day, the cake was nice and firm, I took out the skewers and completed frosting the cake.

Not bad from where it all began right????

Luca was super happy to see the blue cake come out with 4 candles on top.  He told us earlier in the day he wasn’t actually 4 until he blew out his candles.

Now for the inside, did it work???

I was pleased how it all came together. It actually tasted delicious (according to my husband and my own tastebuds)  However in an ironic twist, Luca took one bite (his plate here on the left) and said ‘oh mom, this tastes awful!”  I’m not sure if he was just going along with me as I was laughing at myself all day about how my cakes turn out ugly…or if he really didn’t like that I added quite a bit of lemon extract to the cake.  Hmmm, I guess we may never know.  (Side note, Luca eats EVERYTHING, all veggies including brussels sprouts and salad.  I’m quite certain he’s never said that he thinks anything tastes ‘awful’)  Sigh….

5 down…95 to go!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily permalink
    August 16, 2012 10:03 pm

    Megs, this is hilarious! Loving this blog. 🙂

  2. cindy permalink
    August 18, 2012 8:53 am

    wooo megan, you’re awesome!!

  3. April 10, 2013 5:05 pm

    that is hilarious. i am glad to see somebody be honest about pinterest. there’s no way those people’s things come out that pretty the first time. otherwise im convinced they are professionals. lol

Trackbacks

  1. Pin #100: The Rainbow Cake (non-wreck): Let’s Celebrate!!! | the pinterest effect

Leave a Reply

journeyofarockstar

Just another WordPress.com site

What I see when I run...

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Teacher Tom

1 year. 100 projects inspired by Pinterest. Stop Pinning. Start Doing.

Early Learning Planet

A Mother of Two Boys, Jillian Mak Shares Stories of Parenting and Information as an Early Childhood Educator

& squatch makes three

I make it all up as I go along.

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Woodland Park 3s

Just another WordPress.com site

Changing My Destiny

In search of an extraordinary life.

