Skip to content

Pins #11-13 Birthday, Birthday, Housewarming Party {Part 2: The Food}

September 17, 2012

Our 3-parties-in-one-day menu looked like this:

3:00pm-5:00pm Water Party Kids Menu

Carrot Cake Cupcakes with Blue Frosting

Pirate’s Booty

Pretzles

Watermelon

Juice Boxes

5:00pm Housewarming BBQ Menu

Pulled Pork (Better Homes and Garden Classic Rootbeer Recipe – MILD SPICE)

Pulled Chicken (Trader Joe’s Delicious BBQ Sauce/Chicken Breast that’s it – MEDIUM SPICE)

Mexican Beef (Pin #11 – SPICY SPICE) Sadly, I didn’t get a shot of our version. I’d give it only about 3 out of 5 stars, ok, but not amazing.

Pin #11 Spicy Mexican Beef

Rolls and Buns for pulled meat sandwiches

Cole Slaw

Caprese Salad Bites (Pin #12)

Pin #12 Caprese Salad Bites

My version with tomatoes from our yard. **UPDATE 6/21/13 – this photo has been pinned 846 times and counting – so I want to make SURE the original source is credited…Mel’s Kitchen Cafe Blog – thank you!! 

 

Favorite Feta Dip (Pin #13)

Pin #13: Favorite Feta Dip

My version – it was, indeed, a crowd favorite.

Various Dips: Salsa, Hummus, 7 layer dip, Artichoke dip, Roasted Red Pepper Dip

Corn Chips, Pita Chips, Baggette

Grapes

Veggie Tray

Salami and Cheese Plate

cookies (I forgot to put out!!)

Margaritas

Malibu Rum and Juice

Wine, wine, wine and more wine

One Keg of beer from a local “Nano-Brewery” in Ballard called ‘Northwest Peaks’ (Andrew is a beer of the month club member with this guy and just loves it).

So….yeah AND we still ran out of food!!

I wish I’d done more Pinterest but as the party got nearer, I was getting a littler nervous to try new things on ‘game day.’ So, we had three great crowd pleasers and lots of other yummy things. The shreaded beef took WAY longer to cook than the recipe called for and had to come out a good hour after the first two meats. Anyone still hungry was stuck with super spicy. I think next time I host a party for 75 people (yeah, we realized after the fact that there were more people at this party than were at our wedding!!) that I’ll try and prepare a little differently. I felt like I was putting food out during the best part of the party and missed out on talking to half our guests. Or maybe I’ll hit the lottery and get it catered!

13 down…87 to go!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2012 7:50 pm

    OMG….reading this and looking at your pics made my stomach start growling! It’s almost 8 pm…..I forgot to eat…..The food looks delicious and I’m sure everyone enjoyed every bite. Was there anything left after the party??? I’ll bet not!!

    Did you remove my “cherry tomato” post?…..not such a good idea, huh….

Trackbacks

  1. Up Housewarming: The Food | Nessa Be Good

Leave a Reply

journeyofarockstar

Just another WordPress.com site

What I see when I run...

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Teacher Tom

1 year. 100 projects inspired by Pinterest. Stop Pinning. Start Doing.

Early Learning Planet

A Mother of Two Boys, Jillian Mak Shares Stories of Parenting and Information as an Early Childhood Educator

& squatch makes three

I make it all up as I go along.

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Woodland Park 3s

Just another WordPress.com site

Changing My Destiny

In search of an extraordinary life.

