Skip to content

Pins #20 & #21: Thankful

November 24, 2012

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!  This year I finally felt like Luca could ‘get it’ when we talk about being thankful and I really wanted to make a big deal of the holiday for that reason.  I was always glad my mother had instilled in me the virtue of gratitude.  She always made a big deal about writing thank you notes for birthday gifts – especially to grandmothers. And living in a small town where there were times the thanksgiving turkey was being donated to our family, we always had a lot to be thankful for from our community.

Pin #20 Name them One by One

On November 1st, I thought I’d kick off the Thanksgiving month by posting on our chalkboard pantry door a ‘We are THANKFUL” board.  Each day I had Luca (and my husband, ‘dog’ and myself) post what we were thankful for.  Luca had some pretty silly ones, but some that were so heart felt that it was really touching.  By the end, I was very moved and very convinced he truly understood what it meant to be grateful for others, things, feelings and in some cases, snozzberries.(Someone has been reading Charlie and the Chocolate Factory!)  Some of my other favorites were: our paint colors, flag wrapping paper, cozy slippers, the new bathroom mat, building forts with Dad and Milo, our house, mama (twice!).   Probably my most favorite was when Luca was listing his buddies and said he wanted to put his friend Parker on the board and his little sister, Calla (also known as Milo’s best and pretty much only ‘baby friend’).  When I just wrote ‘Calla’ he said “no, no, Mama, I want it to say ‘I’m thankful Milo has Calla to love.”

Pin #21 Thankful Chalkboard – I actually thought of this idea myself and searched Pinterest for examples. I love how this one didn’t have the items as a list, just scattered on the board wherever they fit .

Our final Thankful Board:

21 down…79 to go…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2012 11:43 pm

    I love this post. Love love it. Thank you!

    A

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. November 26, 2012 4:55 pm

    So adorable, makes me want to paint my pantry door! And what is a Snozzberry???

Leave a Reply

journeyofarockstar

Just another WordPress.com site

What I see when I run...

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Teacher Tom

1 year. 100 projects inspired by Pinterest. Stop Pinning. Start Doing.

Early Learning Planet

A Mother of Two Boys, Jillian Mak Shares Stories of Parenting and Information as an Early Childhood Educator

& squatch makes three

I make it all up as I go along.

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Woodland Park 3s

Just another WordPress.com site

Changing My Destiny

In search of an extraordinary life.

