Skip to content

Pin #24: Bubbles

November 28, 2012

Now that we’re wearing our winter coats, our windshield wipers are staying on full time and hot beverages are an all day occurrence, I thought it may be nice to look back to the magic of a warm summer evening spent with friends in the back yard. Now, on no planet do I think that these photos even hold a candle to their inspiration. However, I do think the photos capture the way we were all feeling at that moment.

I took an intro to photography class offered by an awesome group in Seattle called Mamas with Cameras. My good friend, Mary, is one of the founders of the group and a great teacher. My #1 takeaway from the intro workshop was not how to understand aperture or shutter speed, but to take photos on regular ole’ days that tell the story of how you were feeling at that moment. To take pictures of your children and capture the ‘scene’ so well that one day when they look at it when they are 32 and think they know everything, they will be able to see what it must have felt like at that moment for me, their mom, through my eyes. It is a very touching concept that has totally changed how, when and how often I snap photos of my kidos.

Pin # 23 Bubbles – photo inspiration

What I always hope to remember about this evening is the ease at which the kids played into the night, the color of the sunset reflected off the bubbles, the funny game Luca an his buddy Victor were playing where they were stashing graham crackers in their ‘pirate ship,’ how Victor’s little sister, Maxine, who had just turned 2, was keeping up with the big boys and not backing down to any of their high energy play and how our friends commented on feeling like a night spent in our back yard felt like being on vacation (the ultimate compliment). I have no idea what we ate, how long the kids stayed up past their bedtime or how messy the house was after – I just remember all these magical things, and of course, the bubbles.

23 down 77 to go….

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2012 11:35 pm

    So precious!!!! Love this post and seeing your creativity bloom in your photos!!! 🙂

  2. December 16, 2012 1:49 pm

    This is gorgeous photography. I keep coming back just to look at it and feel a bit summery despite the rain outside!

Trackbacks

  1. Pins #31-33 For the Love of Christmas Cards « the pinterest effect

Leave a Reply

journeyofarockstar

Just another WordPress.com site

What I see when I run...

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Teacher Tom

1 year. 100 projects inspired by Pinterest. Stop Pinning. Start Doing.

Early Learning Planet

A Mother of Two Boys, Jillian Mak Shares Stories of Parenting and Information as an Early Childhood Educator

& squatch makes three

I make it all up as I go along.

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Woodland Park 3s

Just another WordPress.com site

Changing My Destiny

In search of an extraordinary life.

