Skip to content

Pins #25 – #30: Recipe Roundup

January 2, 2013

When reviewing my Pinterest food board I realized I’ve actually made a fair amount of recipes that I have pinned.  So here is a little round up of my review of six, the good, the bad and the ugly.  I’m giving each a star rating from 1-5 stars.  *****  As always, click on the original pin picture to link back to my Pinterest board which will get you back to the source.

Slow Cooker Coconut Ginger Chicken and Vegetables:  To be fair, I didn’t make this one, my husband and mother-in-law did.  But it is DELICIOUS!!!  I’d give it **** 4 stars!  The chicken literally turns into butter in your mouth, it is fantastic. We used the full fat coconut milk, but next time we tried the reduced fat and it was not even close to being as good, sorry. We made it for our early Christmas in Victoria, BC with my husband’s family and again when my family was visiting over the Christmas Holiday.

23362491787335433_9CmUdwYp_c

Pin #25 Slow Cooker Coconut Ginger Chicken & Vegetables from http://www.simplebites.net

IMG_3072

Our version the second time made with the reduced fat coconut milk, you can see how the UN-creamy it looks.

Bacon Jalapeno Cheese Ball: Do I really need to say more than simply that?? This thing will change your life!  I made this for my son’s co-op preschool holiday meeting/potluck and it was one of the first things gone off the buffet! I give it ********** 10 STARS!! (yes, out of 5).  I could eat this for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

23925441741711905_5h1Z8nZy_c

Pin #26 Bacon-Jalapeño Cheese Ball from http://www.traceysculinaryadventures.blogspot.com

My Lovely Cheese Ball - the lighting is making it look a little green, but I assure, it was almost as beautiful as the previous picture.

My Lovely Cheese Ball – the lighting is making it look a little green, but I assure, it was almost as beautiful as the previous picture.

Tofu and Broccoli:  One word: GROSS.  I’m not sure if I just suck at cooking (tofu), or if this recipe is just THAT BAD, but this was gross.  Even my husband didn’t eat it and he eats EVERYTHING I make.  It was a total fail.

206743439115160092_gNhfvaUi_c

Pin # 27: Gross

Santa Fe Turkey Stuffed Peppers: This one I give **** 4 stars!! It was delicious!  This recipe comes from one of my top Pinterest finds – Skinnytaste.com.  Seriously, I think I have the same taste buds as this blogger.  She makes everything so flavorful while keeping things generally light.  She even includes the Weight Watchers Points Plus values on her recipes – so when I’m ‘on the wagon’ this is a really good tool for me!  My only complaint is that it took longer to make than I was anticipating.  This was 99% my fault as I didn’t read through the entire recipe before I started cooking and dinner was about an hour later than I thought it would be (and we had guests)!  I didn’t factor in the baking time once all the cooking of the filling was complete.  Again – my fault!  I also loved that I had leftovers of the ‘filling’ and it worked out great the next day for a second meal of burritos.

24769866672066539_hH8zoYtP_c

Pin #28 Santa Fe Turkey Stuffed Peppers by Skinnytaste.com

Baked Parmesan Garlic Chicken: I’m going to also give this recipe ****4 Stars.  It was quite delicious and very easy to make.  I loved that it used lemon juice as one of the ‘binding agents’ to keep the cheese on the chicken….as we all know, for me, it is all about cheese distribution and management.  I’d make this one again for sure.

194217802651821088_q0jPZ9hD_c

Pin #29 Baked Parmesan Garlic Chicken from Classy Clutter

IMG_2192

My chicken before going into the oven – all lemony, garlicy and cheesy!

Brussels Sprouts Gratin: Due to the amount of cheese included in this recipe, it is going to come as a shock that I’m only giving this one a ***3 star rating.  I think it is worth trying again, but I think I finally discovered the truth that there IS a time when too much cheese can actually be…too much.  This was quite easy to make and it looked amazing, but it was just so so so heavy.  Yes, that is part of the point, I know, but it truly could have done with half the cheese and would have been a cheesy delicious recipe.  I’ll give this another go, but next time cut the cheese by a third or so.

230879918368129675_5Dl9llVC_c

Pin #30 Brussels Sprouts Gratin

IMG_2433

My cheesy goodness – almost as pretty as the picture!

30 down…..70 to go!  (wow, we’re making a dent!)

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 6, 2013 10:49 pm

    Thank you for meal planning for me for the next week. 😉

Leave a Reply

journeyofarockstar

Just another WordPress.com site

What I see when I run...

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Teacher Tom

1 year. 100 projects inspired by Pinterest. Stop Pinning. Start Doing.

Early Learning Planet

A Mother of Two Boys, Jillian Mak Shares Stories of Parenting and Information as an Early Childhood Educator

& squatch makes three

I make it all up as I go along.

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Woodland Park 3s

Just another WordPress.com site

Changing My Destiny

In search of an extraordinary life.

