Skip to content

Pins #44 & #45: Fabric+Canvas=Art

February 18, 2013

This will be my first of, surely, many posts about my beloved Sarah Jane Out to Sea collection fabric that I adore so very much and will be making (and having made) lots of projects for our baby girl’s (eventual) room.  I pinned this fabric before I was even pregnant with #3 and certainly before I really had any hint we’d actually have another girl living in this house. I just loved this fabric so much that I hoped to one day create something out of it.  I mean come on, GIRL PIRATES?? With the two big brothers she’ll have, baby girl has no choice, she’s destined for life of swashbuckling, walking the plank and going on hunts for buried treasure….on a daily basis is my guess.

3ff35489bc977f14980fce15ab1bee94

Pin #44 Sarah Jane: Out to Sea Collection

IMG_3455

My first fabric art canvas, I just love it! *the colors are a bit off here – a little too bright, fyi.

05b3c660c2f8863c57a39f2662dd38de

Pin #45 Sarah Jane’s display of her fabric framed as art – loved this idea!

Here’s how I did it: you simply need fabric, an iron, a stable gun and a plain art canvas.  I scored and picked this one up for 50% off!

IMG_3434

Supplies: fabric, stable gun, canvas (and clearly – an iron is also needed!)

IMG_3438

Don’t be shy with the staples!

Position the fabric in the desired location on your canvas and stretch very tightly.  Staple on all sides and then neatly fold the corners similar to a bed sheet for nice sharp, neat edges.

IMG_3454

My four completed canvases. I have supplies to do more, but had to send the fabric off to my Mom for quilt and bedding making. I’ll see what she has left in the end to do a few more before all is said and done I hope. *again, the colors are a bit too blue/bright here, the other photos better represent the actual look of the fabric.

These will not hang on a wall for quite some time, our baby, due in almost May, (April 30th) will be bunking up with us for a few months to give baby brother Milo a few more months (?) in the nursery before going to share a room with big brother.  I’m sure bits and pieces of the nursery will be completed before that, so I’ll just plan on showing them off as I do them.  I can’t wait to see what my mom creates with the rest of the fabric! (Thanks Mama!)

Arrrggggg Matey!!!!

45 down…55 to go!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Molly Holmes permalink
    February 19, 2013 4:27 am

    All I can think of is, what will we do when you’ve reached your 100th pinterest project! Can’t tell you how much I look forward to opening these blogs when I get the email! LOVE this project, and this beautiful fabric (wonderful artist). Can’t wait to see the whole room put toghether. I’m sure Mama will make a beautiful quilt for your little Pirate!

  2. February 19, 2013 6:52 am

    So perfect!

  3. February 21, 2013 7:39 pm

    Meg, I love what you’ve done so far!! I like yours better than the original pics on the Sarah Jane website…. I can already see that baby girl Hooks room is going to be soooo cute! I’d better get busy with my part….. Keep the creativity flowing….. Mama

  4. Dawn Carlsen permalink
    July 20, 2013 9:09 am

    Love your writing, creativity and beautiful pictures! I am so enjoying reading every post like another chapter in a good book I don’t want to put down. You are an awesome mama too.
    -Dawn

Trackbacks

  1. Pin #61: Knock Off Ballard Design Pin Boards | the pinterest effect
  2. Pins #82 & #83: Colette’s future Room | the pinterest effect

Leave a Reply

journeyofarockstar

Just another WordPress.com site

What I see when I run...

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Teacher Tom

1 year. 100 projects inspired by Pinterest. Stop Pinning. Start Doing.

Early Learning Planet

A Mother of Two Boys, Jillian Mak Shares Stories of Parenting and Information as an Early Childhood Educator

& squatch makes three

I make it all up as I go along.

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Woodland Park 3s

Just another WordPress.com site

Changing My Destiny

In search of an extraordinary life.

