Skip to content

Pin #46: Self Portrait, Prego Belly

March 12, 2013

Today I’m officially 33 weeks pregnant.  It feels like the home stretch, yet baby girl is still SO far away.  At least this is how I feel each night when I’m trying to find a way to sleep that is comfortable knowing it will only last about 10 minutes before I need to get up to start the process all over again.  After not photo documenting my pregnancy almost at all with Luca and doing many photo shoots with Milo in the belly, I had yet to take a photo of this pregnancy yet.  I think I’ve just been super self conscience this time around feeling HUGE.  But I knew I’d be sad if I had no pics at all.

So here is the shot:

Big belly self portrait 33 weeks

A post shared by Megan Hooks (@megan__hooks) on

It was inspired by this beautiful pin.  I love how the light is all around her and the photo is overexposed.  It seems like the angelic light expresses the magic of pregnancy and vanity can be put aside for a moment.  (Both putting vanity aside and finding magic in pregnancy is pretty hard to do at this point, but it is something to strive for!) I wanted to try and recreate all those feelings and look.  I just took my second level Mamas with Cameras workshop and I had a great time setting this shot up and trying to get it right about 1001 times in MANUAL mode.  (Here I go plugging the Mama’s again…but what can I say, I’m snap happy!)  I have a long way to go to even come close to the beauty of this photo, but I’m happy with my first attempt.

830b0d5d7f248308d9a287c0e8bf3b61

Pin #46 Maternity Photo Self Portrait

46 down….54 to go…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Molly Holmes permalink
    March 13, 2013 3:36 am

    BEAUTIFUL!!!

  2. March 13, 2013 8:59 am

    AWESOME JOB, gorgeous Mama!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. March 13, 2013 8:50 pm

    My beautiful baby is a beautiful mama! Lovely, Megs!

  4. April 10, 2013 5:06 pm

    I think it came out beautifully!!

  5. Dawn Carlsen permalink
    July 20, 2013 9:13 am

    You are always gorgeous and this photo of you is exceptional and reflects that.

Leave a Reply

journeyofarockstar

Just another WordPress.com site

What I see when I run...

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Teacher Tom

1 year. 100 projects inspired by Pinterest. Stop Pinning. Start Doing.

Early Learning Planet

A Mother of Two Boys, Jillian Mak Shares Stories of Parenting and Information as an Early Childhood Educator

& squatch makes three

I make it all up as I go along.

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Woodland Park 3s

Just another WordPress.com site

Changing My Destiny

In search of an extraordinary life.

