Skip to content

Pin #47: Ukulele Love

March 13, 2013
e53d7560611cb872d816d832e874af5b

Pin #47 Ukulele

That’s right, the Ukulele people.  This one goes back to a few different sparks of inspiration.  First, I saw this pin and loved this adorable turquoise ukulele.  Then our preschool auction had this exact same one (but in red) on the ‘auction block’ the last week of school last year.  (Our ongoing school fundraiser is a year long ‘talent’ auction from members of our community, but there are also some donated items such as this).  Sadly the bidding was intense and I lost out.  Then upon moving to Edmonds and checking out the local offerings from the Parks and Recreation center down the street, I discovered they offer ukulele class. I decided that all signs were pointing toward bringing some music into my life again.

As a kid I was in middle school band (saxophone), always in choir and came from a pretty musical family.  I have found that being a stay at home mom really tests your ability to identify where there are holes left behind by not going off to work each day.  While this topic could be discussed in depth, I’ll limit this post to simply saying for me, I have found that I function so much better as a mom when I’m exercising some kind of creative outlet.  Whether it be this blog, sewing, music or some other random craft that I’m mildly OK at.

So, last November, I purchased my own ukulele, I took a beginner class and it was amazing.  My teacher was a super laid back Hawaiian lady and going to class felt like going on a mini vacation.  After four weeks, I came out of the class with a grip of songs I could play including the Ukulele anthem, Somewhere Over the Rainbow, Brotha Iz version!!  Don’t know the one , take a little trip to Hawaii and listen here:

Then just a few weeks ago I signed up for level 2 also at the community center but taught by a different teacher.  From the moment I walked in on the first day he gave me grief because I hadn’t taken HIS level 1 class and called me out almost every mistake I made . The next two classes were no fun at all, however, out of fear of screwing up, I think I actually learned so much more, his class was very challenging.  I’ll show you mean guy!!  Finally, tonight (the last class) he was raving over my progress….SHEW!

It was a good reminder that learning something new is very hard and it takes work, time and effort.  Being a Mama, I witness kids learning new things literally everyday, Milo just learned to walk, he learns new words literally each minute of the day, Luca is trying his hardest to learn fine motor skills that he needs to write letters.  Starting something like learning a new musical instrument reminds me of how hard these guys are working each and everyday.  Sometimes I don’t give them the credit they deserve.  They are working 10x harder than I do in my little music class, but they are doing it 24 hours a day.

I’m done with classes for now since the level 3 class goes past my due date and I just can’t fit it all in right now.  But I hope to keep learning via books, youtube and practicing the music I have from class.  Maybe this time next year I’ll pick up where I left off – even with the tough teacher, maybe he was good for me after all.

47 down….53 to go….

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2013 10:28 pm

    Oh my, was it at the Frances Anderson Center? I would absolutely drive out there weekly for a class, my internet tutorials aren’t cutting it. Maybe I’ll get caught up on level 1 and 2 and you can join me in level 3 post baby!

  2. Roberta Jennings permalink
    March 14, 2013 4:47 am

    Love that you are playing the uke! Believe it or not, I used to have a baritone uke…played for fun in college. I have a friend from college, now retired, who played guitar. A few years ago he decided the uke was more fun. He’s now almost Hawaiian, lol. They are SO much fun! And I can hear you playing “Over the Rainbow” very clearly! Great job!

  3. Olivia permalink
    March 14, 2013 11:26 am

    I love your ukulele playing!!! I hope with these classes you can find something perfect to play at my wedding! 🙂

  4. March 24, 2013 7:29 pm

    And now, Mom has one! We might have to make it a duet at Olivia’s wedding! I can’t wait to get practicing! Meggie and family, thank you so much for my birthday present!

  5. Dawn Carlsen permalink
    July 20, 2013 9:31 am

    Love this post. May I use your example in parent ed. class when (as an ice breaker) we talk about, “Tell us the last time you learned something new and were frustrated”. You’ve expressed very well the concepts of empathy and how out of sorts and frustrated kids may feel when challenged with learning new things. Like the way you remind us they do this hourly. It is a great reminder, to adults, about how this feels. My example is taking a driving course at the race track. Yikes.

Leave a Reply

journeyofarockstar

Just another WordPress.com site

What I see when I run...

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Teacher Tom

1 year. 100 projects inspired by Pinterest. Stop Pinning. Start Doing.

Early Learning Planet

A Mother of Two Boys, Jillian Mak Shares Stories of Parenting and Information as an Early Childhood Educator

& squatch makes three

I make it all up as I go along.

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Woodland Park 3s

Just another WordPress.com site

Changing My Destiny

In search of an extraordinary life.

