Skip to content

Pin #53: She’s Here!

May 21, 2013

And now we are 5….

20130521-105112.jpg

Baby Colette Marcella was born on April 30th! She is 3 weeks old today and we’re all doing great.  We’re adjusting to life as a family of 5 quite nicely with the,  as to be expected,  moments of insanity only to be paired up with moments of pure bliss.  The boys love her and want to show it every chance they get.  Milo’s saying of the month is “I need to see baby Coco, I just need a little mooch’ (smooch!).  Of course, a ‘little mooch’ ends up being a full body contact wrestling move most of the time, so even the ‘love’ has this mama a little on edge.

So onto the pin – this post is about her name – Colette.  We found this name from a furniture collection at Restoration Hardware!  I actually sandwiched it in to my list of suggested names to Andrew with one that I really wanted (Emelia – also from Restoration Hardware) because I thought he’d never go for it.  When he said “none of them, except Colette I kinda like” I was shocked.  Then I couldn’t even think of Emelia anymore, and any other name for that matter.  We literally went down the Social Security list of the top 1000 names from last year and decided none of them were a better fit than Colette!  We are more than happy for her to have the nickname of Coco – many (including Milo) have already started calling her that.

40f6a06832d7123f565fc23b03b33800

Pin #53 – The Colette Collection from Restoration Hardware

Naming people is a hard thing.  It is so hard to know what is a good fit for a person you don’t even know yet.  With so much to think about like: how will this look on a resume?  Will this be a good stage name? Example: Please welcome to the stage, Milo James….(as result of living with highly musical family where the last two generations were professional singers at some point) Will this name sound good in my best sports announcer voice for the ‘starting line up’ introductions? Example: AND NOW, your starting forward Lucaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa (last name here)!!!  (as a result from working in sports marketing and sales in my ‘former life’ before children – NCAA and NBA).  Will this name go well with the other family names, with the last name, what nicknames will come to this child, what could kids come up with to make fun of this name???  Will there be 5 other kids in class with the same name? Will it be hard to spell, pronounce, remember or say? I don’t think any name can pass ALL of these tests, but we can do our best.   At the end of the day we love our kids’ names, we hope they like them too!

53 down…47 to go…..

*Marcella – the middle name comes from not a home furnishing store, but from my grandmother Mary Marcella – or “Cella” to many.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jared McGrath permalink
    May 21, 2013 6:26 pm

    Impossible!!!! Our girl name is Coco!!! After Marcelo’s mom Consuelo. Hahhaha. Too too too funny. (And always love reading your blog)

    • May 21, 2013 8:43 pm

      YOU ARE KIDDING ME!!! I say…there was something in the (dish)water at Cooper’s Corner!! hugs and love to you and your brilliant baby naming self!

  2. Steph permalink
    May 21, 2013 8:46 pm

    She is beautiful! Congratulations and welcome to the world little Coco! I also love Colette Marcella … and Emelia … I had to settle for Emily after my husband won that round but kind of wish we had gone Emelia or Emiline for our wee Emmie. Enjoy all the mooching!

  3. Trisha permalink
    May 24, 2013 5:53 pm

    I love hearing the story behind the name. Great post, M!

  4. Robin P permalink
    May 25, 2013 1:07 pm

    I love her name! You pick some real winners Miss Megan!

Leave a Reply

journeyofarockstar

Just another WordPress.com site

What I see when I run...

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Teacher Tom

1 year. 100 projects inspired by Pinterest. Stop Pinning. Start Doing.

Early Learning Planet

A Mother of Two Boys, Jillian Mak Shares Stories of Parenting and Information as an Early Childhood Educator

& squatch makes three

I make it all up as I go along.

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Woodland Park 3s

Just another WordPress.com site

Changing My Destiny

In search of an extraordinary life.

