Skip to content

Pins #54-56: 11 Dinners in 2 Hours: True Story

May 25, 2013

I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed with all the changes that are happening all around me all in one week and even in one day!  This week Luca finished up preschool in Seattle.  After 3 years at one school and 4 years in the co-op system, it was a bitter sweet ending.  I was embarrassingly emotional.  The tears wouldn’t stop flowing – I’m blaming postpartum hormones along with my natural resistance to change – it was a perfect storm.  Equal to the fact we’re sad one chapter is over, I’m also freaking out about not having a routine and no official/regular connection to Seattle any more. In short – next week when Andrew goes back to work (another change since he’s been home 75% of the time this past month since Colette was born), I’m now the stay at home parent of 3 children, with no schedule and I live in a town with very few connections.  The glass half full part of me sees this as an exciting fresh start, but the glass half empty dreads the day with fear of the unknown.

What does all that have to do with this pin? Well, I feel like if I have control over some things, the rest of it is easier to think about.  I decided to try one of these ‘make dinner for a month’ pins I’ve been seeing since joining Pinterest.  We got a freezer so we’re filling it up!

Here is what I found in looking for WHICH of the many pins I’d choose for this adventure:

1. They had to sound good to eat! (Duh!)  So many of the pins had recipes I know I’d not like or my family wouldn’t like or were super rich/fatty.  So, I kind of mixed and matched three different pins.

2. They had to be EASY!! No pre-cooking, just bag dumping! (I hate cooking really).

3. They had to be full of veggies – because we all need more veggies in our lives. This post partum mama needs ALL the help I can get to eat healthy and drop some lbs.

With that I chose the following:

f5bc683079bbe917e7423059fb09bd0e

Pin #54 Cilantro Lime Chicken

f4de28c96930a78fd19f7ea751874629

Pin #55 Crockpot Freezer Meals – it seemed that most of these recipes came from MamaAndBabyLove.com (pin #56) but I really liked the way she had her process laid out. From here I chose to make: Teriyaki Chicken, Lazy Day Stew and Sausage and Peppers

8f9b95c8b15ba56ba5564f1cec8af474

Pin #56 I believe this is one of the original Slow Cooker Freezer Recipes to take Pinterest by storm – especially since the Mama here is selling her cookbook now! I used her Chicken Curry recipe.

My process:

1. Made the grocery list / shopped. (Shopping time not included in the two hours).

IMG_5490

My list. I swear, there is a method to this madness!

2. Prepared all the bags.

IMG_5489

Bags!! One great bit of advice was to prepare all the bags first before putting any food in.

3. Did all the ‘chicken’ recipes first – starting with things that dump in the bag (frozen veggies, canned stuff).  Then did al my cut up veggies/garlic. Then last I added the meat.

IMG_5488

A sampling of the grocery stack pre assembly.

4. Then I did the last two (sausage and beef stew) and did them in the same ‘order of operations’ as the chicken bags.

IMG_5491

Bag stack #1

IMG_5495

Bag Stack #2…so much food right??

5. Let all the air out, laid them flat an put them in the freezer!

I’ll tell you, if these also TASTE good and my family eats them – this is going to be something I do once a month AT LEAST!  During the process I also nursed Colette once and listened as Andrew read 3 chapters of Matilda by R. Dahl to Luca.  All in all this was extremely ‘painless.’ (Did I mention I hate cooking?)  I’ll plan on adding updates or comments to this post with my review on how they turn out after we eat them.  All these great looking pins and blog posts are pretty worthless if the food is no good right?

TAKE THAT  ‘next week’ and all the changes ahead…at least I’ll have one thing going for me…dinner is ready.

56 down…44 to go….

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Robin P permalink
    May 25, 2013 1:05 pm

    I can’t wait to hear how these turn out! I would love to do something like this.

  2. June 15, 2013 12:56 pm

    Any favorites to report?

Leave a Reply

journeyofarockstar

Just another WordPress.com site

What I see when I run...

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Teacher Tom

1 year. 100 projects inspired by Pinterest. Stop Pinning. Start Doing.

Early Learning Planet

A Mother of Two Boys, Jillian Mak Shares Stories of Parenting and Information as an Early Childhood Educator

& squatch makes three

I make it all up as I go along.

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Woodland Park 3s

Just another WordPress.com site

Changing My Destiny

In search of an extraordinary life.

