Skip to content

Pin #61: Knock Off Ballard Design Pin Boards

June 6, 2013

I’ve had this one in my que for a long while.  In fact, I’ve had it partially done in my dining room for several months!!  I finally just finished it last weekend and it is one of my favorite projects EVER.
Cheap, easy, and best of all, I got to use my staple gun again! YES.

a7c273a8d50c740a2a8cb711829287e3

Pin #61: Ballard Design Pin boards, very pricy $$$ $50 for that tiny one.           We can do better right??

 

Similar to my post about wrapping canvas with fabric for art, aka Pin #44 and Pin # 45, you simply need a few supplies.  In this case I had three 16×16 inch magnetic cork boards that I had up in my old house in the little play nook in the basement that I wanted to repurpose.  The were also wrapped with a cheerful childish polka dot print for that space.  I’ve decided I want to put these up in my kitchen to take the place of putting crap up on the fridge.  Having loads of stuff on my fridge stresses me out so this is a great solution for those things that you DO want to put up temporarily like birth announcements, school pictures of cousins, fun cards, kids art projects, etc.  Also, these are going to go on the wall facing INTO the kitchen. In other words, you have to be IN the kitchen to see them.  Upon walking in, you don’t see the clutter.

The notes on this pin were from someone who also planned on doing a ‘hack’ of the item.   They said they were going to cover them in burlap.  I had that intention going to the fabric store, but the burlap just reeked of what seemed to smell like gas to me. (Pregnant nose).   So I went with wrapping them in a linen fabric.  It was much pricier at $14.99 a yard, but luckily I had a 40% off coupon. I think the look is much nicer too in the end.

IMG_0349

My ‘naked’ pin board. After sitting in the garage for a year, they were in pretty bad shape, but the beauty of this kind of project is making something old look new again!

 

IMG_5262

Staple Gun = old to new!

 

IMG_0498

I marked dots every 2 inches around the edges for the decorative upholstery nails.

 

IMG_0500

Nails in!  I chose silver since I have stainless steel appliances in my kitchen.  The original Ballard Designs boards had an antique gold.  

IMG_0499

 

 

IMG_0506

The hired help….precision work.

 

 

IMG_0518

Wha-la! Milo is not too impressed but I LOVE them!! *note wall color is best seen in the first picture with the naked board. This iphone photo makes the wall look quite green.

 

IMG_0749

I’m sure they will get more cluttered, but for now, I’m loving looking at some recent instagrams, baby announcements, Luca’s soccer team photo and a few other goodies. *note above about the wall color.  

 

61 down..39 to go….

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Trisha permalink
    June 9, 2013 10:06 am

    LOLing at the hired help. 😛

Trackbacks

  1. Pins #66-#74: 2 Boys in a Room | the pinterest effect

Leave a Reply

journeyofarockstar

Just another WordPress.com site

What I see when I run...

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Teacher Tom

1 year. 100 projects inspired by Pinterest. Stop Pinning. Start Doing.

Early Learning Planet

A Mother of Two Boys, Jillian Mak Shares Stories of Parenting and Information as an Early Childhood Educator

& squatch makes three

I make it all up as I go along.

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Woodland Park 3s

Just another WordPress.com site

Changing My Destiny

In search of an extraordinary life.

