Skip to content

Pins #66-#74: 2 Boys in a Room

June 16, 2013
IMG_0920

2 Boys in a Room – a room inspired by a Pinterest board full of ideas!


I started this post with the ‘end product’ for once since there are SO many pins that went into the putting together this space.  It has been so fun to work on this room from start to finish and see how many ideas came from Pinterest.

First things first.  So far, only Luca sleeps here. Milo is still in his ‘nursery,’ but it was really important to me that this room start out as a space for two boys.  This will now be the third* room that Luca has had created for him. (*See pictures of Luca’s nursery and ‘big boy room’ from our Seattle house pictured below just for fun/reference).  It hardly seems fair that Milo not be involved from day one designing this room even if he’s not sleeping here just yet.   We hope to move him by the end of the summer, around when he turns two.  This room was the original master bedroom for our 50-year-old house.  Since, the current master bedroom was added and this room is just too huge for one kid. So, on with the pins…

First – The Walls:  Please do your best to follow along as I explain my labyrinth of a thought process here.  First, Pin #66: I knew Luca wanted DARK blue walls.  In fact he originally chose a blue  so dark that might as well have been black.  I talked him a few steps up on the color wheel and we settled on a color I LOVE that I call ‘surfer blue.’  I was a bit concerned that the color was still too bold considering we have very low ceilings and no moulding. I searched Pinterest for ideas that may look similar to what we were planning and this pin is a great example.  It even had the medium shade brown furniture similar to the beds we have for the boys – beds built by my husband’s uncle when he was a boy and the beds he and his twin brother slept in until they were 18 years old!  Then this picture got me thinking about how nice the white ceiling and thick crown moulding looks.  I loved the clean crisp look of this ‘surfer blue’ and the white white.  I remembered that I had pinned the nursery example in Pin #67 with the ceiling color extended down a foot or so onto the wall.  AH!  I thought, perfect for this room with no moulding and it would break up the boldness of the blue for a ‘breezier’ feel, I thought.  Then, when I was picturing the blue room with a white ‘cap’ I started seeing the classic VW Bus in my mind.  So, I searched and pinned a few examples of how that inspiration as well, Pin #68. The complete picture was starting to come together for me but wasn’t exactly ‘finished.’  Finally, after consulting with our family favorite painter and paint color consultant she gave me the brilliant idea to bring the white the same distance (12 inches) from the bottom as well as the top for a giant stripe effect.  Perfect.

8b04b7e8248d60f6609bf01a2ce1f8a9

Pin #66: Bold Blue Walls, White accents, Wood Beds

753eeb80ffac5854641caa90a24d7b8f

Pin #67: Ceiling Color extending down the wall.

 

eb8b73279ad32da65ffe704d3180d974

Pin #68: My vision – for the room to have the effect with color that this classic VW Bus has – classic blue/white combo

IMG_0927

You can see in this picture how the white ‘stripe’ on the top matches the 12 inch white on the bottom. This makes the blue look less heavy, cleaner.

Lighting: This one is easy…Ikea. Done.

b25fee95dfe1b401a48526607a03328a

Pin #69: Ceiling Light by Ikea

7d94104342a5dc22b6b41ad89529aebe

Pin #70: Reading bedside lights by Ikea

Pin #71 actually inspired a lot of ideas but mainly the two large framed photos over the kids’ beds. I also bought the supplies to do the book wall, and intend to do it eventually, but not in time for this post.  I just adore this blog – she had quit blogging for a while and now she’s back! I’m so excited go and read up on all her fun projects in all my free time.(ha!)

fe59305325e85dd407067a76afd776ee

Pin #71 Two large photos over beds – from Daffodil Designs – one of my favorite blogs!

Next, Bedding: Pin #72 is where I first got the idea of mixing into the pattern of Luca’s existing quilt (that I MADE, well, I had it quilted because I royally screwed it up, but hey…it is a finished sewing project…who cares how it happened!). I hope to make one for Milo to coordinate one day.  But for now, back to the stripes.  This bedding is from West Elm for a pretty hefty price tag.  I was SO excited when I found the exact same duvet at Target for a whopping $19.99!  (Pin #73).  Not only cheap, but SO soft.

91096646e333eea333a0291223a5fab9

Pin #72: Original idea for matching bedding – grey and white. I love the photo and picture wall too and was going to implement, but it is really unrealistic – I mean, come on, do you think these boys in this picture have knocked those things off the walls 100 times?? I do!

IMG_0922

794df90701f70baf7b9a58aaf828d8ee

Pin #73: The bedding, the affordable option. From Target for $19.99 each set of duvet cover and pillow case. AND SO SOFT!

Finally, Pin #74, the magnet boards.  This pin was quite the ambitious project I thought I’d attempt.  As mentioned in my Knock off Ballard Design Pin Board post, I don’t want tons of junk or magnets on my refrigerator, so a place for the kids to put their super cool gear magnet toys and of course ABC letters was a necessity.  I found these great boards at Ikea and they work great.  Milo even started playing on these boards when he first started sitting up.

IMG_0937

IMG_0928

19ae7ac2d5263e4f3685ae05ff40833c

Pin #74: Magnet Board

IMG_0932

Tent made by my mom a few years ago – NOT inspired by Pinterest surprisingly!

IMG_0942

“Ok, you’ve seen my room, you’ve seen my blue walls, my striped duvets, now get the hell out!” **Door Slam**…..can you tell I am a child of the MTv generation? A La ‘MTv Cribs’…No? Not funny? I tried…

I hope you have enjoyed checking out this room as much we enjoyed putting it together.  It truly was a group effort with me, Andrew (the best stripe painter on the planet!), Luca and Pinterest.  I’ve included the real estate listing photos of Luca’s big boy room he moved into when Milo arrived when he was 3 and the Nursery in our old house.

74 down….26 to go!……

Come on people, this is going to be a photo finish, cheer me on, leave comments share with friends.  I have 2 weeks to blog about the rest of the 100 completed projects to make it within my ONE YEAR deadline!!

ballard house nursery 2

Luca and Milo’s Seattle nursery – where all the stripe painting began in 2008                             (Some other furniture/touches removed for real estate photo here)

ballard house luca's room

Luca’s Seattle big boy room – colors chosen by him. The Gray stripe is actually chalk board paint!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Olivia permalink
    June 17, 2013 4:36 pm

    2 more weeks?! Noo!!! Reading your blog posts is the highlight if checking my email!!!!!

Leave a Reply

journeyofarockstar

Just another WordPress.com site

What I see when I run...

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Teacher Tom

1 year. 100 projects inspired by Pinterest. Stop Pinning. Start Doing.

Early Learning Planet

A Mother of Two Boys, Jillian Mak Shares Stories of Parenting and Information as an Early Childhood Educator

& squatch makes three

I make it all up as I go along.

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Woodland Park 3s

Just another WordPress.com site

Changing My Destiny

In search of an extraordinary life.

